Skip to content

HOT TOPIC: Should we integrate Judaism and a secular subject like math in a day school setting?

February 26, 2013
by

Lawrence Mark Lesser

JEWISH PI DAY: MAKING A SECULAR SUBJECT MORE JEWISH…AND MORE ENGAGING

I was blessed with the opportunity to integrate Judaism and mathematics when I took a leave of absence from a university mathematics education position to upgrade my experiential base with full-time pre-collegiate teaching experience – working two years as mathematics department chair and teacher at Emery High, a new pluralistic Jewish community high school in Houston.

To make my teaching more meaningful and motivational for my students (and for myself), I sought, compiled, created, and implemented connections to Judaism with a range of students for varied classes and assemblies, and I described those efforts in a 2006 article1 that appears still to be the most comprehensive overview of areas of Jewish mathematics for classroom use. The current paper is intended to supplement, not supplant, my 2006 paper in the Journal of Mathematics and Culture.

Read More…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

