Skip to content

HOT TOPIC: Should Sex Education have a place in the Jewish school curriculum?

February 26, 2013
by

Mara Yacobi

WHY JEWISH KIDS NEED VALUES-BASED SEX ED

Last spring, I walked into a sixth grade classroom where the girls welcomed me with squeals of delight, excited to show me the dance routine they had created to the rap song “Take It Off.”

The lyrics include:

Now we’re looking like pimps in my gold Trans-Am
Got a water bottle full of whiskey in my handbag…
There’s a place downtown where the freaks all come around
It’s a hole in the wall, it’s a dirty free for all
And they turn me on when they take it off…

Their original performance was for the talent show at a Jewish co-ed sleep-away camp. The girls told me they had performed their dance routine as they peeled off layers of clothing until they were down to their bathing suits.

Read More…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

